The Fox Magazine

Daily Inspiration:

Dream Bigger
With Us.

Let's Get Social

    Bas Releases Introspective New Album: We Only Talk About Real Shit When We’re Fucked Up

    Bas Releases Introspective New Album: We Only Talk About Real Shit When We’re Fucked Up

    Bas releases a new album we only talk about real shit when we’re fucked up — out now. Featuring a star-studded lineup of special guests including J. Cole, A$AP Ferg, Adekunle Gold, FKJ, Amaarae, AJ Tracey, The Hics + more!


    Dreamville rapper and global star, Bas releases his long-awaited new album, We Only Talk About Real Shit When We’re Fucked Up (Dreamville/Interscope Records) Listen now. To celebrate the album, Bas also released a music video for his track “Yao Ming,” watch here.

    Featuring a star-studded lineup of special guests, Bas has curated an album primed for fans from all across the globe including J. Cole (North Carolina), A$AP Ferg (New York), Adekunle Gold (Nigeria), Amaarae (Ghana), AJ Tracey (London), FKJ (France) and more.


    1. “Light of My Soul”
    2. “Black Jedi”
    3. “Choppas”
    4. “Home Alone” ft. J. Cole
    5. “Risk” ft. FKJ
    6. “Decent” ft. Amaarae
    7. “Passport Bros” ft. J. Cole
    8. “Testify” ft. Sha Sha
    9. “Ho Chi Minh”
    10. “179 Deli” ft. AJ Tracey
    11. “U-Turn” ft. Blxckie and A$AP FERG
    12. “Paper Cuts” ft. J. Cole
    13. “Diamonds”
    14. “Yao Ming”
    15. “Dr. O’ Blivion”
    16. “Khartoum” ft. Adekunle Gold
    17. “Wait on Me” ft. FKJ

    The album campaign kicked off strong early this year with the release of “Passport Bros” which featured Dreamville head honcho and Platinum-selling rapper, J. Cole who also appears a couple more times on the new project (“Home Alone” & “Paper Cuts”). Bas named the album to spotlight two sides of the same coin. Where on one side We Only Talk About Real Shit When We’re Fucked Up spotlights the social phenomenon of not being able to discuss sensitive topics without substances (“Ho Chi Minh” etc); the other side of the coin reflects on society’s apathy to difficult scenarios or situations until they reach dire straits (“Khartoum,” “Decent”).
    On the album, Bas furthers his position as one of hip hop’s globally minded stars — whether in the themes of the songs, or its eclectic mix of special guests (coming from all parts of the world) and going as far as curating a stage at the recent Rocking The Daisies in South Africa which took place earlier this month.

    About Bas

    Balancing his bravado with relatable humility, Dreamville’s Bas is a global artist, performer, curator, and storyteller. He’s received multiple GRAMMY® nominations and RIAA certified records as well as launching an award-winning podcast (The Messenger, 2021) and curating a festival in South Africa. Of Sudanese origin, Bas (Abbas Hamad) was born in Paris and raised in Queens, New York. His narrative, delving into the African diaspora, encapsulates a quintessential NYC come-up story, highlighting the importance of authentic consistency. His critically acclaimed album, Milky Way (2018), which features Platinum-certified “Tribe” featuring J. Cole entered Billboard’s Top Rap Albums of the year and prominently placed Bas in the conversation as one of hip hop’s rising stars. The following year he appeared on the historical #1 Billboard Dreamville album, Revenge of The Dreamers III where Bas received multiple GRAMMY nominations.

    In 2021, Bas launched a Spotify Studios podcast titled “The Messenger” chronicling Afropop superstar Bobi Wine’s metamorphosis into a global icon leading a political movement in Uganda. Last year saw Bas join J. Cole on his sold-out national tour, all while scaling the charts on the collaborative track “The Jackie” and being appointed as a star curator for Rocking The Daisies, a premier South African music festival. In 2023 Bas released a string of singles kicking off the year with “Diamonds” accompanied by a deeply introspective visual and then the J. Cole assisted track “Passport Bros”; then “Ho Chi Minh” and “Khartoum” with Adekunle Gold that painted the picture of Bas’ fourth studio album We Only Talk About Real Shit When We’re Fucked Up which he released in December. The album furthered Bas’ position as a global artist through the choice of featured guests spanning regions from all over the world as well as its themes. With every project that Bas delves into — be it music, editorial, or curation — he proves that his unique perspective creates a much-needed voice in today’s diverse entertainment landscape.

    Post a Comment

    Bas Releases Introsp…

    by The Editors Of The Fox Magazine Time to read this article: 9 min