The Fox Magazine

Daily Inspiration:

Dream Bigger
With Us.

Let's Get Social

    The 17th Annual African American Literary Awards Show Returns

    The 17th Annual African American Literary Awards Show Returns

    The 17th Annual African American Literary Awards Returned on Saturday, October 2nd, 2021, (virtually) honoring Gary Clemons – Executive Director of Friends of the Children New York and included a special tribute to the late author, Eric Jerome Dickey.

    Yvette Hayward, President and Producer of the African American Literary Awards announces that the 17th Annual African American Literary Awards will be virtually celebrated for the 2nd year in a row on Saturday, October 2nd, 2021, at 7:00pm.

    Due to the pandemic, the awards show was held via Zoom and streamed via Streamyard and Facebook Live

    The hosts for the 17th Annual prestigious and one-of-a-kind award ceremony honoring our community were hosted by Rahsan-Rahsan Lindsay, (CEO of MediaCo Holding, Inc, – Parent company of Hot 97) and Nancey Harris (COO of Vontélle Luxury Eyewear).

    Nominees for this year award show included: Media Personality and Author – Bevy Smith, TV Anchor and Author – Don Lemon, Social Activist and Author – Tamika Mallory, Legendary and Iconic Actress and Author – Cicely Tyson, TV Personality and Author – Mike Hill, and Authors – Charles Blow, Sho Baraka, Wes Moore & Erica L. Green, Nicole Lynn Lewis, Danielle Henderson, Steven A. King, Tia Williams, Elayne Flucker, Bolu Babalola, Sandra Sutton, Stacey Abrams, Nekessa Afia,Tami Charles, Debbie Rigaud, Charles Blow, Frederick Joseph, Joya Goffney, Rebecca Roanhorse, Pepper Teigen, Brenda Jackson, Kianna Alexander, among others.

    Past winners, presenters and attendees include Isaiah Washington, Hill Harper, Dr. Cornel West, Sonia Sanchez, Michael Eric Dyson, White House Correspondent April Ryan, Eric Jerome Dickey, Sherri Shepherd, Gizelle Bryant, Walter Mosely, NAS, ReShonda Tate Billingsley, Victoria Christopher Murray, and many other talented authors and luminaries.

    This year’s honoree was Gary Clemons, Executive Director of Friends of The Children New York and there was a special tribute to a long-time friend of the African American Literary Awards Show, the late, Author, Eric Jerome Dickey.

    Presenters and attendees included, Social Activist and Author – Tamika Mallory, TV Personality and Best-selling Author – Ray “Misster Ray” Cunningham, Author – Walter Mosley, Author – Dr. Michael Eric Dyson, Author – Steven Anthony King, Author – Steven Van Patten, Author – Marc Abbott, Actor – Khalil Kahn, Author/Comedian – Tyhem Commodore, Radio Personality – Lenny Green, Author – Victoria Christopher Murray, Author – ReShonda Tate Billingsley, Amber Ruffin and Lacey Lamarr (Amber Ruffin Show), Tiffany “The Budgetnista” Aliche, Lenny Burnett (Uptown Magazine) amongst many others. Additional presenters to be confirmed.

    The African American Literary Awards Show (AALAS) is the first and only event to recognize, honor, celebrate and promote the achievements and contributions of African American authors, writers, publishers, artists and related entertainment industries. The celebrity-hosted ceremony is a semi-formal evening affair that includes dinner and award presentations. Pre-event activities include a nominations brunch and pre-show VIP Red-Carpet cocktail reception. This legendary Awards Ceremony brings authors and fans together.

    The goal of AALAS is to connect with members of the literary world to ensure they have the opportunities that literacy provides. Our model for impact is grounded in creating a culture of literacy for the community we serve – providing choice, access, and engagement opportunities for reading. AALAS provides the best in entertainment, literary news, and educational services for our younger, yet eager minds.

    For over 16 years, AALAS has been an important advocate for reading in the community and has benefited those in the community through supporting reading enrichment programs that encourage reading.

    AALAS are intentional when it comes to building the community of readers in such a way that it does not feel contrived but will grow on its own. Since the inception of AALAS, the event has encouraged and promoted many communities of readers. The award ceremony is loved by many because of the various authors’ willingness to embrace the community and share personal stories that encourage others to read.

    Post a Comment

    The 17th Annual Afri…

    by Drishti Joshi Time to read this article: 8 min